Professional Development Activities

1st Annual Equity in Education Summit

Thursday, January 26, 9:00 AM - 2:30 PM

Dundalk Campus, Theatre

Join keynote presenter Dr. Paul Gorski for a day of presentations, roundtables, and brainstorming sessions about issues of equity on our campuses and in our communities.  Lunch is included, preregistration is required.

Contact Dr. Ted McCadden: tmccadden@ccbcmd.edu

Teaching Community:  Reflective Faculty/Staff Reading Group

Fridays, February 17, March 3, March 24, May 5

2:30 PM-4:30 PM

Campus Locations TBA

Faculty and staff share their reflections on reading bell hooks' Teaching Community. Participants meet monthly at rotating campus locations.  Join us for all or one of the sessions. Participants may be asked to participate in qualitative research approved by the CCBC Institutional Review Board.

Contact Dr. Jennifer Pemberton: jpemberton@ccbcmd.edu

Staff/Faculty Book Club and Discussion of Between the World and Me.

Fridays, February 17, March 10, March 24, April 7, April 28, May 12

12:30 PM-1:30 PM

Dundalk Campus, Room TBA

Participants are encouraged to read selections from Between the World and Me before attending this biweekly discussion group.

Contact Ed Morman: emorman@ccbcmd.edu

Going Deep: The Art of Challenging Conversations

Tuesday February 7, 3:00-4:30 (CRN 30159) Introduction to Contemplative Pedagogy

Tuesday, March 7, 3:00-4:30 (CRN 30160) Deep Listening

Tuesday, April 4, 3:00-4:30 (CRN 30161) Looking, Seeing, Reflection, and Compassion

Tuesday, May 2, 3:00-4:30 (CRN 30162) Deep Reading

Dundalk Campus, Roy Staten Building 206

This 4-part series utilizes contemplative practices to serve as an aide to better facilitate one-on-one and group discussions around challenging topics. This is open to all faculty members. Participants must attend three of the four sessions in order to earn a certificate for the series. Please register via FlexReg in advance.

Contact Mary Jo Garcia Brown: mgarcia@ccbcmd.edu or Stephanie Briggs: sbriggs@ccbcmd.edu

Contact information

For more information, contact your Campus Coordinators or the CBC Director, Dr. Ted McCadden, at tmccadden@ccbcmd.edu

Dundalk: Shannon Meers smeers@ccbcmd.edu

Essex: Elsbeth Mantler emantler@ccbcmd.edu

Catonsville: Dr. Jennifer Pemberton jpemberton@ccbcmd.edu