Fig. 7: Domains of the T-Cell Receptor

Most T-cell receptors are composed of two polypeptide chains, an alpha chain and a beta chain. The variable domains of the alpha and beta chains (red) provide specificity for binding a peptide bound to a MHC molecule. The terminus of the constant domains (purple) anchor the receptor to the cytoplasmic membrane of the T-lymphocyte. (S-S = disulfide bond)

Doc Kaiser's Microbiology Home Page
Copyright © Gary E. Kaiser
All Rights Reserved
Updated: Feb. 5, 2002
Please send comments and inquiries to Dr. Gary Kaiser