Fig. 5F: Translation of mRNA by tRNA.

Codon Sheet (Fig. 2)

This process continues until the ribosome encounter a "stop" codon. A stop codon is a series of three mRNA bases coding for no amino acid and thus terminates the protein chain. UAA, UAG, UGA are the three stop codons in the genetic code. Stop codons do not code for an amino acid because a tRNA cannot recognize them. Proteins called release factors free the protein from the tRNA and the two ribosomal subunits come apart to be recycled. During this elongation process, the protein has assumed its three-dimensional functional shape.

Doc Kaiser's Microbiology Home Page
Copyright © Gary E. Kaiser
All Rights Reserved
Updated: March 26, 2007
Please send comments and inquiries to Dr. Gary Kaiser