Fig. 4: The Four Nitrogenous Bases in DNA: Adenine, Guanine, Cytosine, and Thymine

Adenine and guanine are also known as purine bases; cytosine and thymine are also called pyrimidine bases. Each deoxyribonucleotide will contain one of these four bases.

Doc Kaiser's Microbiology Home Page

Copyright © Gary E. Kaiser
All Rights Reserved
Updated: Nov. 2, 2005
Please send comments and inquiries to Dr. Gary Kaiser